Federal Appeals Court Rules Against Keith LaMar

From Lucasville Amnesty:

BomaniShakurThe United State Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit released it’s decision on Keith’s Dec 2nd appeal.

They found against Keith. This means Keith’s case progresses to the Ohio Adult Parole Board, who will set an execution date. Our next moves will be coming, but, first, here is Keith’s initial response to the news.

A statement from Keith LaMar/Bomani…

Hello Everybody:

I write this under the assumption that most if not all of you have heard the news: they turned down my appeal. I only recently found out myself and haven’t had the opportunity to read the actual Decision; when I receive it, I’ll extend my response. For now, just know that I am standing firm within myself and not at all wavering in my determination to continue the fight. As I see it, there’s only so much that we, as individuals, can do–and I feel confident that I did that. I wrote the book, spoke all over the country educating people about my plight. And I did this, not because I thought it would sway the courts, but to hopefully sway you to believe that something is inherently wrong with this system (and the country as a whole, to be perfectly candid). In the past few years and months, we have all sat back and watched as unarmed black men have been summarily executed in the streets, without a trial, jury, or the slightest pretense of justice; that being the case, it should come as no surprise that the courts shot me down. It’s upsetting, yes, but I’ve learned to navigate my disappointments my focusing on what to do next. It’s not over yet–and even if they succeed in murdering me, I won’t let that stop me from living my life NOW. I’m not going to unravel, or break down in a heap of sorrow. My understanding and faith is too strong for that. So, for all of you who are worried about me, I am okay. Mad as hell, no doubt, but no less so that when I heard about Tamir Rice, Eric Gardner, Mike Brown–and the rest. Hey, at least I got a trial, at least they went through the motions of pretending that they ever gave damn. I guess I should feel grateful (chuckle).

Again, I’ll write more in the next few days or so, as soon as I receive and read the Decision. Of course there will be the usual sounds coming from my attorneys, expressing their shock and concern. Don’t believe it. More than anybody, I blame them for not presenting the pertinent evidence, allowing the courts to rule in the way that they did. I have the statement from the actual perpetrator who ADMITTED to killing someone for whom I was sentenced to death. No amount of talk can persuade me that they had my best interest in mind. My grandfather used to say, “they piss on you and call it rain.” So that’s how I feel about that (them). For myself, I intend to keep building on the base that I’ve established, working with any and every body who is opposed to this monstrous system. Let’s come together, work together, and stop looking for the same people who profit from our pain to save us. It’s ridiculous! That’s all I have to say for now.

With love and solidarity,

Bomani Shakur

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Write to Bomani:
Keith LaMar
317-117
878 Coitsville-Hubbard Road
Youngstown, OH, 44505

Leave a Reply

