Support the Pelican Bay SHU Hunger Strikers from Denver

Emergency community gathering in support of California Prisoner Hunger
Strikers!
Monday, September 26 · 7:00pm
27 Social Centre
2727 W. 27th Ave Unit D

They’ve murdered Troy Davis. We can’t let them murder our comrades in
California.

Prisoners in California are preparing a second hunger strike to
protest deplorable prison conditions, conditions that judges and
officials alike have railed against; conditions that have forced the
California DOC to release thousands of prisoners.

Our comrades on the inside are prepared to give their lives during
this hunger strike. They are willing to die in an effort to improve
the conditions of their confinement rather than live through these
horrible degradations.

Join us to discuss how to aid and support these comrades, these
working class people who are struggling for their lives against the
prison industrial complex.

DISCUSSION WILL INCLUDE BO BROWN, FORMER POLITICAL PRISONER AND MEMBER OF THE HUNGER STRIKE SUPPORT COLLECTIVE, VIA SKYPE.

Also read below for a recently published letter by one the hunger strikers!

**Letter from a prisoner in Pelican Bay SHU
(postmarked June 13, 2011)*Hello, my name is [withheld]. I live in Pelican
Bay SHU and was recently denied for my inactive review for a single source
which was my name and number in someone else’s address book…

This entire review process is a complete sham, the only way for me to be
able to see the mainline is to become an informant.

The active/inactive process is truly a house of cards and I honestly believe
the courts fully understand this, which is why they honestly fear
intervening because the validation program would crumble…

So these words are written with a clear and focused mind on the task ahead.
There’s been months of soul searching, real personal tug of wars but
ultimately it’s brought about my decision to hunger strike.

With a tear in my eye I can/do look back over my life and fully realizing
the tremendous amount of pain and damage I’ve caused my family and friends
as a youth.

My story was a violence fueled path of sheer destruction and for all of
those I hurt, I do take full ownership of…

If turning back the hands of Ole Father Time was a reality I’d be in line to
heal those who were hurt…

Though standing before you today is no boy but rather a 37 year old man who
believes with his maturity came truth of/in himself which ultimately led to
his integrity and honor as a man.

Whereas I’ve been in Ad/Seg and SHU for merely 8 years, all around I can
clearly see my future in cells aside and below me, 10 years, 16 years, 22
years…

In the quietness of my mind I am struck by the immense task of adjusting my
mind and body to these extreme isolation realities decade after decade
without going insane…

It’s not too promising when year after year all I see is the effect of these
extreme conditions of deprivation crushing once prideful and courageous men
into shells of their former selves…

I do pray to the gods above that they allow my spirit and soul to burn
bright and to endure.

So the past, present, and future. Our litigations they have failed. The
state and federal courts are unwilling to call this prolonged isolation and
legalized psychological torture, just that, torture!

Because when a man walks into that debriefing room he’s been totally broken,
broken to the point of saying anything for one sole purpose to stop the pain
and if that’s not a confession under extreme pressure and torture then I
don’t know what is…

Every avenue has been taken to get out of here with my pride, dignity, and
honor in hand. I’ve tried the institution appeals, a total joke and as I
stated earlier the courts refuse to make any substantive changes and without
that CDC will continue to justify keeping me and the rest in these extreme
conditions of isolation for the mere fact that we are labelled as gang
members and simply refuse to become informants and debrief…

So in with the realization of the fact that the courts will allow me/us to
die here there’s been long thought as to how to peacefully resist this
prolonged psychological torture. The collective conclusion is that the only
means left available to us is to go on a serious hunger strike.

I volunteered to give all that I have for myself, my family and those who
know and respect me.

I in no way, shape or form am I suicidal nor do I wish to harm myself in
anyway. But the facts are that CDC has drawn a hard line in the sand and
the only way from underneath these conditions are to debrief or die. I wish
to do neither.
I can’t articulate exactly how badly I want to hug my mother or speak to my
father over the phone or send them a yearly photo of their son. But it’s
huge!

Instead I am limited to maintaining my relationships with family through the
mail and IGI has always viewed I/M [inmate] mail as a key component in the
debriefing policy in where they are able to put pressure on relationships in
the hopes of breaking them up and further isolating us with the hope we
choose to debrief.

I choose to stand defiant, I stand tall and always silent and I exercise my
option to fully protest via hunger strike.
I will not become just another broken faceless soul forced to become a
confidential informant for CDC to relieve this burden *only* to burden
someone else…

I hunger strike with the hope of gaining some form of relief so the next
load of men, young and old, won’t have to be broken down, drove insane or
killed to find relief…

I must end with a word for my beautiful family. I love them all and have
learned many valuable lessons of respect, understanding, duty, and integrity
by their stellar examples. They truly are my rock in dark times and I love
them all.

Respectfully written,
[name withheld]

One Response

  1. HI MY NAME IS JESSICA SERRANO GIRLFRIEND OF DANIEL MANRIQUEZ INMATE IN PELICAN BAY SHU. I WANTED TO ASK EVERY ONE WITH A FAMILY MEMBER, FRIEND THAT IS IN PRISON TO HELP OUR LOVED ONES BE HEARD! THEY NEED OUR SUPPORT TO MAKE THE CDC CHANGE THERE GUIDELINES AND TREAT OUR LOVED ONES AS HUMANS NOT ANIMALS. PLEASE SIGN THE PETITION ON CHANGE.ORG. YOU COULD MAKE A DIFFERENCE. THANK YOU

    DANIEL
    I LOVE YOU BABY
    IM SO PROUD OF YOU
    IM RIGHT BEHIND YOU BABY

Leave a Reply

