Stop the Deportation of Imelda Valenzuela Gonzalez!

Please join us as our community seeks to keep Imelda Valenzuela Gonzalez with her community and her family. Imelda is a community leader and nurturing mother and she belongs here with her family. Please her daughter Tania’s message below for more details on this case.

In addition to coming on Thursday morning at 7:45am, please consider taking the additional action steps:

1. Sign Imelda’s online petition. Here is the link.

http://action.dreamactivist.org/colorado/imelda/

2. Make a phone call to ICE. Check out the online petition above for more information.

Call ICE Director John Morton (202) 732-3000

Sample Script: “I am calling to urge ICE to stop the deportation of Imelda Valenzuela Gonzalez (A# 087-496-884), who was defrauded by a lawyer who is now on the run from the law. While the lawyer gets away with his crime, Imelda is in danger of being separated from her family for simply trying to renew her cosmotology license. Please keep her in the U.S. where she has raised her children since 1999.”

3. Write a support letter for Imelda
Attached is a letter template along with some very basic instructions on how to write an effective support letter. We need these letters by Monday, April 1st at 8:00am. Please send your completed letters to Mu Son at muson@progressivecoalition and call Mu Son with any questions at 720.570.4908.

Message from Imelda’s Daughter Tania
Queridos Amigos,

I am not sure all of you knew this, but mom has been fighting her deportation case for a few years now. It has been stressful, scary and painful, “but we wont back down we wont retreat.” This upcoming Thursday April 4th at 8:30am its my moms “last” court date and I am requesting your help and support. I would like to get a petition started to ask ice to stop my mom’s deportation and grant her prosecutorial discretion.

She is an amazingly strong mujer, a supportive and loving mother, a luchona and hard worker and an important part of this society’s fabric, she is my mom. I want to keep her close, not just at heart and spirit but in the flesh. I need you to help me stop her deportation.

She has a lawyer, but also has a tough case. My mom has a case of neglect and its being considered by ICE as child abuse. One day my mother left my siblings alone to go run an errand, as siblings often do they started bickering. My brother was bothering my little sister and making her angry, she then called the police. My mother arrived a little after the police had gotten there she was charged with neglect. That small incident has haunted us with her case.

I am asking you to help me gather signatures, call ICE and circulate the petition once its set up, and also be present at her court date. Her court is

Thursday April 4th at 8:30am at
621 17th Street
Denver CO 80293

I’m appreciative of all the support we can receive. The will be an online petition going around, but I would also like help setting one up where we can just print it, gather signatures and give it to the lawyer to have in his hands. I am overwhelmed and have not had the head space to get this started due to other things that need to get done for her case. If any one has experience, time and willingness to help me set this up I am forever grateful.

Please help me keep my family together.

In community,


Tania Soto Valenzuela

One Response

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,792 other followers

